When understanding the shlok, especially the ‘samprapti’ or any other sutra in classical text, it would be worthwhile to follow the guidelines of Rudyard Kipling (an English journalist, short-story writer, poet, and novelist).

I KEEP six honest serving-men
(They taught me all I knew);
Their names are What and Why and When
And How and Where and Who.

Who, What, When, Where, Why and How are the magic servants that can be used to understand everything we learn.

For example, we will try to understand the first shloka of B.A.M.S course under this principle which acts as an entry point in Sanskrit grammar – Panniniya.

नत्वा सरस्वतीं देवीं शुद्धां गुण्यां करोम्यहम्।
पाणिनीयप्रवेशाय लघुसिद्धान्तकौमुदीम्॥

 Who – हम् (I write)

What – लघुसिद्धान्तकौमुदीम् (write Laghusiddhant Kaumudi)

Why – पाणिनीयप्रवेशाय (to enter the subject of Sanskrit grammar – Panniniya)

How – नत्वा सरस्वतीं देवीं शुद्धां गुण्यां (by paying respect to Goddess Saraswati – Goddess of knowledge)


I write Laghusiddhant kaumudi to enter the subject of Sanskrit grammar Panniniya by paying/offering my respect to Goddess Saraswati – The Goddess of knowledge.

Similarly, let us try and understand the samprapti shlok of Jwara.


Jwara being the first disease explained in the classical texts, let us study the samprapti shlok of Jwara and understand it by using the six honest servants explained above.

Jwara Samprapti Shlok:

मिथ्याहारविहाराभ्यां दोषा ह्यामाशयाश्रयाः |

बहिर्निरस्य कोष्ठाग्निं ज्वरदाः स्यू रसानुगाः ||२||


Who –  दोषा ह्यामाशयाश्रयाः

What – ज्वरदाः स्यू

Why – मिथ्याहारविहाराभ्यां

How – बहिर्निरस्य कोष्ठाग्निं

Where – रसानुगाः